

SHERIFF DUSTIN D. HEUERMAN CHAMPAIGN COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE

204 E. Main Street Urbana, Illinois 61801-2702 (217) 384-1204

Coordinator John Dwyer Champaign Co EMA 1905 E. Main St. Urbana, Illinois 61802 (217)-384-3826

> Champaign County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) Meeting Minutes

> > February 25th, 2020

Location: ILEAS Boardroom 1701 E. Main St. Urbana, IL 61802 Time: 10:30 AM

- I. Welcome and Introduction Chairman John Dwyer called the meeting to order at 10:30am and introductions were made.
- II. Public Comment There were no public comments
- III. Review and approval of minutes from the November 26th, 2019
 John Dwyer asked for a motion to approve the minute. Bill James CCEMA made the motion to approve.
 Brian Ball, Champaign Fire Department seconded the motion and all approved.
- IV. Tier II reporting began on January 1, 2020 and the last day of filing is March 1, 2020 Champaign county has 146 facilities in Tier 2. to date 56 submissions have been received. Main issue is many companies are doing the on-line filing without providing paper copies to the LEPC and local Fire Depts, CCEMA will access the State of Illinois database for companies that did not provide paper copies as required by law.

Local incidents, training, exercises and upcoming events discussion

- Midwest Emergency Preparedness & Response Conference-05/13-14/2020 Rockford The LEPC has funds to send a second person to the conference paying the registration, fee, hotel and per die.
- 2. High Hazard Flammable Train (HHFT) Information

The State provides CCEMA with an estimate of the number of trains meeting the High Hazard Flammable Train (HHFT) requirement and the frequency they pass through the county by week.

- 3. National Weather Spotting Class will be held on Match 26 at 6:30 pm in room C 118 at Parkland College.
- 4. NWS Champaign radio has been taken off the air due to equipment issues and the owner selling the facility and tower. Coverage from other NWS radios for weather information is not available for most of the county. It is recommended that people utilize the various phone app's (FEMA, NWS, RED CROSS) or sign up for text alerts on the Champaign County EMA.ORG website.]
- 5. The upgrade to the Champaign, Urbana, University of Illinois and Savoy sirens has been completed along with the programming of the alerting boundary. Should any portion of an NWS drawn polygon for a tornado (warning) touch any portion of the boundary all sirens for these communities will be activated. There remains the option to manually sound the sirens if required.

Several other communities are interested in this system and have been provided costs for upgrading their siren. Activation of these sirens will be based on that community and have no impact on the quad-city polygon.

V. Open Discussion and Wrap up

Brian Ball, Champaign Fire Department HazMat requested information on the availability of grants for assisting the hazardous materials and technical rescue teams to obtain needed equipment.

Bill James asked for assistance in filling in the blank area on the LEPC brochure with information that the group thinks would help promote the awareness about the mission of the LEPC.

John Dwyer identified that the Hazard Mitigation group has a survey which will help identified county needs for hazard mitigation.

VI. Adjournment-

Brian Ball, CFD made the motion to adjourn and Deb Goettig, ARC seconded the motion.

VII. Next Meeting—June 30th

Yearly Requirement: Please complete the Open Meetings Act training at:

http://foia.ilattorneygeneral.net/Default.aspx

Attendees

John Dwyer	Champaign County Emergency Management Agency
Bill James	Champaign County Emergency Management Agency
Russell Rudd	Vermilion County Emergency Management Agency
Sherry Wooten	University of Illinois Police Department
Brian Ball	Urbana Fire Department
David Scherer	University of Illinois-Operations
Karly Combest	Ameren Illinois
Therese Brown	Guardian West
David Payton	Guardian West
Gina Walters	Guardian West
Jackie Christensen	UCSD
David Cress	Kraft
Robert Davies	CUPHD
Chuck Wilson	CUMTD
Deb Goettig	ARC
Mike McCormick	Beauty Quest Group