

## OFFICE OF THE CHAMPAIGN COUNTY EXECUTIVE

1776 East Washington Street, Urbana, Illinois 61802-4581

## Darlene A. Kloeppel, County Executive

## MEDIA RELEASE

Date:October 23, 2020Re:Champaign County Redistricting Advisory GroupContacts:County Executive Darlene Kloeppel 217-384-7390

Pursuant to the Illinois Counties Code (55 ILCS 5/2-3002), Champaign County redraws the political boundaries for the County Board districts in order to re-balance representation from each district based on any population shifts that have occurred since the last census count. Following receipt of the Census 2020 results, the County Executive is responsible for providing the proposed redistricting map for adoption by the County Board. Executive Darlene Kloeppel has formed an advisory group made up of representatives of the county's diverse population to assist her with this important task. The group will begin to meet with the Executive during early 2021 to bring community perspectives to the redistricting map by which County Board Members will be elected for the next 10 years. The public will be invited to give input during the process and watch the progress of the group.

Participants of the advisory group include:

- Emily Bluhm, St. Joseph, is a UIUC senior majoring in Ag Economics & Finance.
- Brandon Boys, Urbana, is a new father and a former Manager of Urbana's Economic Development Department.
- LeAnne Brehob-Riley, Champaign, is the county's GIS Consortium Manager.
- Trisha Crowley, Urbana, is a retired Assistant State's Attorney Civil Division and President of the Champaign County League of Women Voters.
- Nicole Darby, Champaign, is a planner with the county's GIS Consortium.
- Brian Gaines, Urbana, is a UIUC Political Science Professor at the Institute of Government and Political Affairs.
- Mariel Huasanga, Champaign, is the Director of the International Trade Center at the IL Small Business Development Center at the Champaign County EDC and a Peruvian immigrant acquiring U.S. citizenship.
- Chuck Lansford, Champaign, is retired Head of Carle Dept of Internal Medicine, former member of the Champaign County Nursing Home Advisory Board, and a Champaign Public Library Board Member.
- Gabriel Lewis, Urbana, is a CCRPC Transportation Planner and a 2020 Census liaison.
- Shandra Summerville, Champaign, is the Champaign County Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities Boards' Cultural Competence Coordinator.
- Debbra Sweat, Rantoul, is retired Administrative Assistant to the UIUC Vice Chancellor in the Office of Equal Opportunity Access.
- Shree Thaker, Champaign, is a Sales Support Specialist with PSYONIC and pursuing her MSc from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.
- Lin Warfel, Tolono, is retired UIUC Farm Manager and former member of the Champaign School and Parkland College boards.

-end-