#### RESUME OF MINUTES OF A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNTY BOARD, CHAMPAIGN COUNTY, ILLINOIS September 14, 2021

The County Board of Champaign County, Illinois met at a Special Meeting, Thursday, September 17, 2020, at 6:17 PM at the Brookens Administrative Center, 1776 East Washington Street, Urbana, Illinois and remote participation via Zoom due to social distancing necessitated by the coronavirus, with County Executive Darlene Kloeppel presiding and Matthew Cross as Clerk of the meeting.

## ROLL CALL

Roll call showed the following members present: Rodriguez, Stohr, Straub, Summers, Taylor, Thorsland, Wolken, Carter, Cowart, Esry, Fortado, Goss, King, Lokshin, McGuire, Michaels, Passalacqua, and Patterson – 18; late: Harper (arrived approximately 6:25 PM and missed the Agenda vote) – 1; absent: none. Thereupon, County Executive Kloeppel declared a quorum present and the Board competent to conduct business. No board members were physically present; all were remote participants via Zoom. Due to the remote attendance situation all voting must be by roll call, per Illinois Public Act 101-0640, approved by Governor Pritzker June 12, 2020.

# **READ NOTICE OF MEETING**

The Clerk read the Notice of the Meeting, said Notice having been published in the *News Gazette* on September 12 and September 13, 2021.

# APPROVAL OF AGENDA/ADDENDA

Board Member McGuire offered a motion to approve the Agenda; Board Member Esry seconded. Motion carried by unanimous roll-call vote.

Yeas: Rodriguez, Stohr, Straub, Summers, Taylor, Thorsland, Wolken, Carter, Cowart, Esry, Fortado, Goss, King, Lokshin, McGuire, Michaels, Passalacqua, and Patterson – 18 Nays: None

## **PUBLIC PARTICIPATION**

Rep. Carol Ammons (IL 103<sup>rd</sup>), Champaign County Democratic Central Committee Chair, called on County Board Republicans to reject County Executive Kloeppel's nomination for ignoring County Board norms and rules until a nominee is brought forth by the Democratic party through the normal nominating procedures.

Shawna Martell, Champaign County Democratic Central Committee Secretary, explained the party application and nomination process that led to the party's nomination of Wayne Williams to the vacant District 11 seat. She stated that County Champaign County Board September 14, 2021

Executive Kloeppel's rejection of Williams and nomination of Lola Jones was an opaque process and an overreach of her powers.

County Recorder Mike Ingram warned about deed-scam mailings that have been circulating in the area and stated that deed copies can be obtained free of charge at the Recorder's office. Recorder Ingram then spoke about County Executive Kloeppel's nomination of Lola Jones, stating the nomination process was undemocratic and, in doing so, County Executive Kloeppel ignored laws and statutes. He asked board republicans to side with the democrats against County Executive Kloeppel's nominee.

#### **COMMUNICATIONS**

Board Member Fortado wished Board Member King a happy birthday.

#### NEW BUSINESS

Board Member Esry offered a motion to adopt Resolution No. 2021-291 appointing Lola Jones as County Board Member in District 11 to fill Titianna Ammons' unexpired term ending November 30, 2021; Board Member Cowart seconded. Board Member Wolken stated her understanding of both County Executive Kloeppel's objection to the Champaign County Democratic Central Committee's nomination of Wayne Williams and the board democrats' objections to County Executive Kloeppel's nomination of Lola Jones. Board Member Wolken stated that Wayne Williams had been rude and disrespectful to the board republications in past Public Participation portions of board meetings; she stated she will not support the nomination of Wayne Williams. Board Member Thorsland noted that County Executive Kloeppel has repeatedly ignored the party nomination process for vacant board seats for democrats but not republicans. Board Member Thorsland argued that County Executive Kloeppel's reasoning in rejecting the nomination of Wayne Williams was weak, noting that past board members have held multiple elected positions and that, historically, the county board consisted solely of the county's township supervisors. Board Member Thorsland stated he would not support any nominee raised outside of the traditional nomination process by party central committees. Board Member Rodriguez noted that Wayne Williams has been outspoken when speaking as a private citizen at board meetings, as was his right, and that she would only support a transparent, democratic nomination process. Board Member Summers stated that County Executive Kloeppel's nomination operated outside the bounds of a normal, open nomination process. Board Chair Patterson reiterated Shawna Martell's explanation of the Champaign County Democratic Central Committee nomination process and noted County Executive Kloeppel ignored the results of that process. The motion failed to carry by roll-call vote.

> Yeas: Cowart, Esry, Goss, Harper, McGuire, and Passalacqua – 6 Nays: Rodriguez, Stohr, Straub, Summers, Taylor, Thorsland, Wolken, Carter, Fortado, King, Lokshin, Michaels, and Patterson – 13

## **ADJOURNMENT**

No other business was raised. County Executive Kloeppel adjourned the meeting at 6:45 PM.

Dawn Ammors

Aaron Ammons, Champaign County Clerk and ex-Officio Clerk of the Champaign County Board Champaign County, Illinois