#### RESUME OF MINUTES OF A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COUNTY BOARD, CHAMPAIGN COUNTY, ILLINOIS December 17, 2020

The County Board of Champaign County, Illinois met at a Special Meeting, Thursday, December 17, 2020, at 6:01 P.M. in the Lyle Shields Meeting Room, Brookens Administrative Center, 1776 East Washington Street, Urbana, Illinois and remote participation via Zoom due to social distancing necessitated by the coronavirus, with County Executive Darlene Kloeppel presiding and Matthew Cross as Clerk of the meeting. No board members were physically present; all were remote participants via Zoom.

### ROLL CALL

Roll call showed the following members present: Esry, Fortado, Goss, Harper, Humphrey, King, McGuire, Michaels, Passalacqua, Paul, Rodriguez, Stohr, Straub, Summers, Taylor, Williams, Wolken, Ammons, and Patterson – 20; absent: Cowart – 1. Thereupon, County Executive Kloeppel declared a quorum present and the Board competent to conduct business.

## READ NOTICE OF MEETING

The Clerk read the Notice of the Meeting, said Notice having been published in the *News Gazette* on December 15 and December 16, 2020.

# APPROVAL OF AGENDA/ADDENDA

Board Member Summers offered a motion to approve the Agenda; Board Member Michaels seconded. Motion carried by unanimous roll-call vote.

Yeas: Esry, Fortado, Goss, Harper, Humphrey, King, McGuire, Michaels, Passalacqua, Paul, Rodriguez, Stohr, Straub, Summers, Taylor, Williams, Wolken, Ammons, and Patterson – 20 Nays: None

### PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

County Recorder Ingram offered his support of Cameron Raab to fill the vacated District 6 Board seat.

Ben Beaupre noted that the meeting was not being simulcast on Facebook Live.

John Bambenek offered his opposition to Cameron Raab to fill the vacated District 6 Board seat, noting that the board needs more diversity.

### **ADOPTION OF RESOLUTION**

Board Member Taylor offered a motion of adopt Resolution No. 2020-336 appointing Cameron Raab as a County Board Member in District 6 to replace Mike Ingram for an unexpired term ending November 30, 2022; Board Member Thorsland seconded. Board Member Summers offered an amendment to the resolution, adding the signature line "Kyle Patterson, Chair, County Board of the County of Champaign Illinois;" Board Member Thorsland seconded. The amendment to the resolution carried by unanimous roll-call vote.

> Yeas: Esry, Fortado, Goss, Harper, Humphrey, King, McGuire, Michaels, Passalacqua, Paul, Rodriguez, Stohr, Straub, Summers, Taylor, Williams, Wolken, Ammons, and Patterson – 20

Nays: None

Resolution No. 2020-336 as amended carried by unanimous roll-call vote.

Yeas: Esry, Fortado, Goss, Harper, Humphrey, King, McGuire, Michaels, Passalacqua, Paul, Rodriguez, Stohr, Straub, Summers, Taylor, Williams, Wolken, Ammons, and Patterson – 20 Nays: None

Immediately following the unanimous roll-call vote to adopt Resolution No. 2020-336, County Executive Kloeppel issued a veto by voice. Board Chair Patterson appealed the veto on the grounds that the County Executive does not hold power over Board nominations and noted County Executive Kloeppel was out of order; Board Member Thorsland seconded the appeal. County Executive Kloeppel and Board Chair Patterson proceeded to debate the rules and legality of both the veto and the appeal; various board members and County Clerk Ammons joined the discussion, noting procedures outlined in statutes, Board rules, and Robert's Rules of Order. County Executive Kloeppel unsuccessfully attempted to adjourn the meeting at 6:16 PM. County State's Attorney Rietz joined the discussion, noting Circuit Judge Bohm ruled in the morning of December 17, 2020, to deny County Executive Kloeppel's restraining order against Board Chair Patterson and maintaining the status quo where the Board Chair offers the nomination to fill vacant a Board seat without the County Executive's approval; State's Attorney Rietz warned that County Executive might have been in contempt of Honorable Judge Bohm's order issued earlier that day. State's Attorney Rietz noted that the previous Board Chair, not the County Executive, had nominated three replacements without issue on the board during his tenure and following the 2016 voter approval of the Office of County Executive, the Board Chair had made more than ten such nominations without issue. State's Attorney Rietz reiterated that County Executive Kloeppel's actions might be in contempt of Honorable Judge Bohm's order. County Executive Kloeppel stated she will send the board a written objection explaining her veto at a later date. Clerk Ammons asked State's Attorney how the meeting might proceed. State's Attorney Civil Division Chief Barbara Mann joined the discussion noting the rules governing the authority of the county board in nominating and approving new members. State's Attorney Rietz noted the pertinent statute only states "approval of the Board" in the nomination of replacement members and makes no mention of the approval of the County Executive. State's Attorney Rietz advised that the board had

Champaign County Board December 17, 2020

given its overwhelming approval in the nomination of Cameron Raab to the vacant District 6 seat, and as such the Raab should be sworn in by the County Clerk. Board Member Passalacqua noted the meeting was run as prescribed by Honorable Judge Bohm, and that order supersedes County Executive Kloeppel's opinions on the matter. Clerk Ammons administered the Oath of Office to Board Member Raab at 6:41 PM.

Saw Ammors

Aaron Ammons, Champaign County Clerk and ex-Officio Clerk of the Champaign County Board Champaign County, Illinois