RESUME OF MINUTES OF AN ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE COUNTY BOARD, CHAMPAIGN COUNTY, ILLINOIS December 7, 2020

The County Board of Champaign County, Illinois met at an Organizational Meeting, Monday, December 7, 2020, at 6:00 PM in the Lyle Shields Meeting Room, Brookens Administrative Center, 1776 East Washington Street, Urbana, Illinois and remote participation via Zoom due to social distancing necessitated by the coronavirus, with County Executive Darlene Kloeppel presiding, Angie Patton as Clerk of the meeting.

ROLL CALL

Roll call showed the following members present: Ammons, Esry, Fortado, Goss, Harper, Humphrey, King, McGuire, Michaels, Passalacqua, Patterson, Paul, Rodrigues, Stohr, Straub, Summers, Taylor, Williams, Wolken – 19; late: Cowart, Thorsland – 2 Thereupon, County Executive Kloeppel declared a quorum present and the Board competent to conduct business. Due to the remote attendance situation all voting must be by roll call, per Illinois Public Act 101-0640, approved by Governor Pritzker June 12, 2020.

READ NOTICE OF MEETING

The Clerk read the Notice of the Meeting, said Notice having been published in the *News Gazette* on December 3, 2020.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA/ADDENDA

County Executive Kloeppel offered a motion to approve the Agenda/Addenda

Board Member Summers moved to amend V to say Board Chair, VI to say Vice Chair, and to remove item VII and VIII.County Executive Kloeppel asked for clarification. Various board members participated in the discussion. Motion to approve the amended agenda.

Yeas: Ammons, Esry, Fortado, Goss, Harper, Humphrey, King, McGuire, Michaels, Passalacqua, Patterson, Paul, Rodriguez, Stohr, Straub, Summers, Taylor, Williams, Wolken--19 Nays: NONE

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

NONE

BOARD CHAIR

Board Member Straub offered a motion to select Kyle Patterson as County Board Chair, Board Member Rodriguez seconds. Board Member Goss nominates Aaron Esry as County Board Chair, Board Member Michaels seconds. Board Members Patterson and Goss gave brief remarks as to why they should be Board Chair.

Patterson Votes: Ammons, Fortado, Humphrey, King, Patterson, Rodriguez, Stohr, Straub, Summers, Taylor, Thorsland, Williams—12

Esry Votes: Esry, Goss, Harper, McGuire, Michaels, Passalacqua, Paul, Wolken-8

VICE BOARD CHAIR

Board Member Stohr offers a motion nominating Board Member Summers as Vice Chair, Board Member Fortado seconds. Board Member Esry nominates Stan Harper as Vice Chair, Board Member Goss seconded. Board Members Summers and Harper gave brief remarks.

Summers Votes: Ammons, Cowart, Fortado, Humphrey, King, Patterson, Rodriguez, Stohr, Straub, Summers, Thorsland, Williams—12

Harper Votes: Esry, Goss, Harper, McGuire, Michaels, Passalacqua, Paul, Wolken-8

<u>Adjourn</u>

County Executive Kloeppel adjourned the meeting at 6:30 PM.

Agun Ammors

Aaron Ammons, Champaign County Clerk and ex-Officio Clerk of the Champaign County Board Champaign County, Illinois