# CHAMPAIGN COUNTY BOARD STUDY SESSION MINUTES

Tuesday, May 11, 2010 Lyle Shields Meeting Room, Brookens Administrative Center 1776 E. Washington St., Urbana, Illinois

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** Carol Ammons, Jan Anderson, Steve Beckett, Thomas Betz, Lorraine

Cowart, Chris Doenitz, Matthew Gladney, Stan James, John Jay, Brad Jones, Greg Knott, Alan Kurtz, Brendan McGinty, Diane Michaels, Steve Moser, Alan Nudo, Steve O'Connor, Michael Richards, Giraldo Rosales, Larry Sapp, Jonathan Schroeder, Samuel Smucker, C. Pius

Weibel, Barbara Wysocki

**MEMBERS ABSENT:** Ron Bensyl, Lloyd Carter, Ralph Langenheim

OTHERS PRESENT: Kat Bork (Administrative Secretary), Deb Busey (County

Administrator), David DeThorne (Senior Assistant State's Attorney), Duane Northrup (Coroner), Julia Rietz (State's Attorney), Mark Shelden (County Clerk), Amanda Tucker (HR Generalist), Dan

Welch (Treasurer)

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

Chair Weibel called the study session to order at 6:03 p.m.

### **ROLL CALL**

Bork called the roll. Ammons, Anderson, Beckett, Betz, Doenitz, Gladney, James, Jay, Jones, Knott, Kurtz, McGinty, Michaels, Moser, Nudo, O'Connor, Richards, Rosales, Sapp, Schroeder, Smucker, Weibel, and Wysocki were present at the time of roll call, establishing the presence of a quorum.

Weibel stated Langenheim was not present due to a death in the family.

### APPROVAL OF AGENDA/ADDENDA

**MOTION** by James to approve the agenda; seconded by Rosales. **Motion carried with unanimous support.** 

CLOSED SESSION PURSUANT TO 5 ILCS 120/2(C)2 TO CONSIDER COLLECTIVE
NEGOTIATING MATTERS BETWEEN CHAMPAIGN COUNTY AND ITS EMPLOYEES
OR THEIR REPRESENTATIVES

**MOTION** by Smucker to enter into closed session pursuant to 5 ILCS 120/2 (c) 2 to consider collective negotiating matters between Champaign County and its employees or their

representatives. He further moved that the following individuals remain present: County Administrator, the County's legal counsel, elected officials, HR Generalist, and the Recording Secretary. Motion seconded by McGinty. **Motion carried with a vote of 23 to 0.** Ammons, Anderson, Beckett, Betz, Doenitz, Gladney, James, Jay, Jones, Knott, Kurtz, McGinty, Michaels, Moser, Nudo, O'Connor, Richards, Rosales, Sapp, Schroeder, Smucker, Weibel, and Wysocki voted in favor of the motion. The County Board entered into closed session at 6:07 p.m. Cowart entered the closed session at 6:17 p.m. The County Board resumed open session at 6:39 p.m.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Weibel adjourned the meeting at 6:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Kat Bork Administrative Secretary

Secy's note: The minutes reflect the order of the agenda and may not necessarily reflect the order of business conducted at the meeting.