

## SPECIAL MEETING OF THE CHAMPAIGN COUNTY BOARD Tuesday, June 6, 2006 – 7:00 p.m.

Lyle Shields Meeting Room, Brookens Administrative Center 1776 E. Washington St., Urbana

## **AGENDA**

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Approval of Agenda
- 4. Public Participation
- 5. Adoption of Resolution No. 5399 to expand East Central Illinois Economic Development District Boundary to include the three additional Counties of Ford, Piatt and Vermilion. *(attached)*
- 6. CLOSED SESSION pursuant to 5 ILCS 120/2 (c) 2 to consider collective negotiating matters between Champaign County and its employees or their representatives
- 7. Adjournment

\*Roll Call

\*\*Roll call and 18 votes

\*\*\*Roll call and 21 votes

\*\*\*\*Roll call and 14 votes

Except as otherwise stated, approval requires the vote of a majority of those County Board members present.

Access to the Lyle Shields Meeting Room for County Board and County Board Committee Meetings is from the north (rear) entrance to the Brookens Administrative Center facility which is located off of Lierman Avenue. (The Washington Street entrance is not open for evening meetings.) For additional information, contact Kay Rhodes in the County Administrator's Office at (217) 384-3776.

## **RESOLUTION No. 5399**

## TO EXPAND EAST CENTRAL ILLINOIS ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DISTRICT BOUNDARY TO INCLUDE THE THREE ADDITIONAL COUNTIES OF FORD, PIATT, AND VERMILION

WHEREAS, the East Central Illinois Economic Development District is presently composed of the counties of Champaign, Douglas and Iroquois Counties for the purpose of promoting economic development in the communities comprised of those said counties; and

WHEREAS, on February 27, 2006 the East Central Illinois Economic Development District Board of Directors received a request at its regularly scheduled quarterly meeting from the counties of Ford, Piatt and Vermilion to allow those said counties to become part of the East Central Illinois Economic Development District; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors of the East Central Illinois Economic Development District voted to approve the request of the counties of Ford, Piatt and Vermilion to become part of the East Central Illinois Economic Development District by expanding the boundary of the District to include those three counties; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors of the East Central Illinois Economic Development District voted to include the counties of Ford, Piatt and Vermilion in its planning grant proposal to the Economic Development Administration; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Directors of the East Central Illinois Economic Development District voted to request that the Economic Development Administration allow the counties of Ford, Piatt and Vermilion to have representation on the Board, contingent upon approval by the Economic Development Administration of the planning grant proposal; and

**NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** by the East Central Illinois Economic Development District Board of Directors that they seek the approval of the county boards of Champaign, Douglas and Iroquois to authorize their respective County Board Chairs to do the following:

- A. Execute whatever documents are necessary to approve the Economic Development Administration planning grant proposal and receive any grant funds associated with the planning grant proposal.
- B. Execute whatever documents are necessary to expand the boundaries of the East Central Illinois Economic Development District to include the counties of Ford, Piatt and Vermilion.
- C. Contingent upon approval by the Economic Development Administration of the planning grant proposal, to execute whatever documents are necessary to grant voting privileges to the counties of Ford, Piatt and

Vermilion on the East Central Illinois Economic Development District Board.

**PRESENTED, ADOPTED, APPROVED and RECORDED** this  $6^{th}$  day of June, A.D. 2006.

	D 1 W 1: CI :	
	Barbara Wysocki, Chair Champaign County Board	
ATTEST:		
Mark Shaldan County Clark		
Mark Shelden, County Clerk and ex-officio Clerk of the Champaign County Board		
	Wayne Schable, Chair Douglas County Board	
ATTEST:		
James Ingram, Douglas County C ex-officio Clerk of the Douglas Co		
	Ron Schroeder, Chair Iroquois County Board	
ATTEST:		